My Week in Beauty

MONDAY

Can there be a better way to banish the Monday morning blues than to try a new lipstick? I don’t think so – especially when it’s a winner, as the new Revlon Colorburst Lipstick (£7.99) undoubtedly is.

I’ve found Revlon lipsticks too dry in the past but this latest creation by their Global Artistic Director Gucci Westman is creamy and comfortable – with fantastically intense colour which lasts and lasts, and a lovely glossy finish.

At the moment there are 12 shades to choose from, including a particularly bold Coral (pictured), a fabulous Fuschia and the deep pink Raspberry, which is my current favourite.

Not only does the lipstick look great on the lips; it looks chic in its elegant, quilted tube. Here’s hoping they add more shades with each season …

TUESDAY

I started the week by interviewing the mineral make-up pioneer Jane Iredale, a delightful and fascinating English lady whose American-based beauty company counts half of Hollywood among its fans.

After we chatted about eyeliners and she warned me about the toxic effects of kohl and the fact that latex is used in many liquid eyeliners, she offered to send me her Jane Iredale Eye Believe Liquid Eye Liner (£17; call 020 8450 7111) which I tried out as soon  as it arrived on Tuesday.

Verdict: it took a little getting used to (I’ve been accustomed to using pen-style liners rather than fine brushes), but it goes on beautifully and lasts really well. The Black/Brown shade is lovely for daywear; I may need to ask to try the intriguingly named Pinot Noir for my next night out ..

WEDNESDAY

I have to confess that I’m not a big fan of Chanel’s eyeshadow quartets, so when I decided to try out the new Chanel Ombres Contraste (£29; from June 25), I didn’t exactly have high hopes – even though I could see that they didn’t have the hard-baked look of the usual boules of Chanel eye colour.

In fact, I was utterly seduced by the first duo I tried – the Misty-Soft set, which contains a dark, almost plummy brown with the merest hint of shimmer, and a gorgeous sparkly mauve shade.

The two colours, as with the other five duo palettes in the collection, work extremely well together, especially if you’re going for a smoky look. (In which case, the Revlon Colourburst Lipstick in Raspberry complements the Misty-Soft eye duo a treat!) They are easy to use (thanks to their powder and cream-powder formulation) and they blend beautifully. Oh, and the colour lasts and lasts.  In case you haven’t guessed, I rather like them. Oh, what the hell: I want them all!

THURSDAY

Uh-oh, I woke on Thursday morning with a humongous, time-of-the-month, zit on my chin.

Every cloud has a silver lining, though, and mine was that it gave me the chance to try out the new concealer kit that I had just been sent.

Benefit Confessions of a Concealaholic (£28.50; www.benefitcosmetics.co.uk) is a book-shaped box, with mirror, which contains five of the US company’s famous concealers and primers. I’ll be trying out the primers soon but was thrilled with the “bo-ing” concealer, which Benefit describes as being of “industrial strength”.  It certainly did a terrific job on my very vivid red spot, allowing me to go out to a gallery viewing with friends without feeling self-conscious.

FRIDAY

In the certain knowledge that Thursday’s zit would still be in place on Friday, I sent out an SOS to Darphin for an emergency spot treatment.

And they came up trumps with Darphin Blemish Clearing Gel (£19), which smells better than most spot creams (thanks to the geranium, sage and lavender it contains) and doesn’t dry the skin out.

It also proved to be very effective: the offending zit had faded into insignificance by the time the weekend rolled around. And I’m now ready to zap the zit the second it decides to make a comeback. ..

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty

Leave a Reply

