Cool Crops

The combination of the hot weather plus the cool movies I’ve been watching – notably New Wave  classic A Bout de Souffle – has led me to obsess about getting a pixie crop a la Jean Seberg, the tragic American star of the afore-mentioned French film.

Not that she’s the only 1960s movie star whose elfin style is worth emulating. How about Shirley Maclaine with the “do” she sported as Fran Kubelik in the wonderfully bittersweet comedy The Apartment?

Or Mia Farrow’s early sixties flirtation with the gamine look – the style she sported when she married Frank Sinatra.

One of the original continental gamines got in on the act too: Leslie Caron may have put Gigi behind her when she lopped her hair off, but it certainly brought her up to date.

Perhaps I was in a minority, but I adored Kate Moss’s brief dalliance with the pixie crop, around ten years ago. And I still do!

Another 1990s hair style icon is Winona Ryder who was a brilliant poster girl for the elfin crop.

Rising British star Carey Mulligan has been sporting a crop since she started appearing in the magazines but she’s the first to admit she’s not a fan. She looks cute with her short cut but for a seriously sexy take on the style, check out Natalie Portman’s hair.

But only one leading lady has stuck to the style through thick and thin – and made it well and truly her own: Dame Judi Dench. Just put her in a pair of capri pants and a New York Herald Tribune T-shirt, and, voila, you’ve got A Bout de Souffle’s Patricia 40 years on!

5 Comments

Filed under Beauty, Style

5 responses to “Cool Crops

  1. Pingback: Mia Farrow Biography Photos Movies TV Credits Hollywood » Images Search

  2. GiRRL_Earth

    I’ve been sporting a pixie since May 2011 and I love it! My only regret: I didn’t chop my hair years before when i was much younger (and cuter!). 🙂

  3. Fiugs

    I agree… I’m 54, tall and a wee bit on the chunky side… I had a pixie cut when I was 22 and very slim… It looked great. Now, with my size etc, I sometimes feel like a drag queen who hasn’t put his wig on yet! The great thing about Dame Judi is that she has a great jawline for a mature woman… I think that visible good bone structure may be the clincher with this style, whatever one’s age.

  4. I love your blog! What a gorgeous post! I am hoping for the courage to do this cute pixie cut to my hair some day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

