My Week in Beauty: In a Mountain Greenery (Where God Paints the Scenery)

Well, talk about starting the week in style: I got up on Monday morning knowing that by dinner time I’d be lapping up the luxury of a five-star hotel in St Moritz, in the Swiss Alps, where I had been invited on a press trip… Actually, I didn’t get up; I ended up staying up all night  having managed five minutes’ sleep at the children’s bedtime and having failed to notch up any more. I had to leave the house at 4am, with the prospect of two planes and three trains ahead of me. Aaaarrrggghh!

To say that I resembled the walking dead by the time I arrived at the elegant Badrutt’s Palace Hotel – destination of the rich, the famous and, er, me – would be an understatement. Luckily, I was met with a reviving welcome cocktail and instant friendship by the hotel’s lovely PR, Anna, with whom I bonded over shared experiences and beauty products. (Put it this way, when I left St Moritz, two days later, she was off to splurge on some YSL Rouge Pur Couture Vernis a Levres – £22.50; having had a shot of mine..)

I think I managed to fool her into thinking I was less tired than I was – thanks to a quick dusting of my new preferred perk-me-up blusher, Guerlain Blush Duo in Chic Pink (which – as you may agree from looking at the picture above – is slightly coral-coloured; £32.50)  and one of my two favourite bright, glossy and moisture-rich lipsticks from the wonderful new Estee Lauder Pure Color Vivid Shine Lipstick collection by Tom Pecheux – Fireball, a coral red, and the near-fuschia Pink Riot (pictured  below; £14.50; www.esteelauder.co.uk). Oh, and I gave Origins Ginzing Brightening Mascara (£17 ; www.origins.co.uk) a go though, as fab a curling and lengthening mascara as it is, I’m not convinced that it contributed much in terms of “brightening” my face or eyes.

First nights in unfamiliar beds are always a bad bet for me, sleep-wise, but by lunchtime on Tuesday I felt totally revived. Why? Because I started my day with one of the hotel spa’s signature treatments, the Engadin Stone Massage, during which heated stones from the surrounding Engadin mountain range are placed on the body’s energy centres – even between the toes! I especially enjoyed having the heat on my tummy and back – and the way in which the therapist combined the hot stones treatment with traditional massage techniques. It set me up nicely for a full schedule that afternoon:  I lunched at the chef’s table in the hotel’s kitchen, helped make chocolates with the pastry chef, went for a sail on the lake and raided the local supermarket for chocolate and cakes.

I ended the week in a similarly upmarket hotel, back in my hometown of Glasgow. The new Liz Earle Colour (www.lizearle.com, from September 10) range was introduced to the local press over a sumptuous afternoon tea at The Blythswood on Friday. (So sumptuous in fact that each journalist had a cake stand to herself.) I’ll be trying out the cosmetics I was given over the next few weeks but will be putting in a request ASAP for a bottle of Liz Earle Signature Foundation (£21) which I tried at the launch. It felt sublime – and when I complimented one of the Liz Earle girls on her glowing skin, it was this silky foundation which she credited.

Since my return from Switzerland, my sleep hasn’t been great – I had the best sleep on night two in St Moritz (oh, and the silkiest-ever hair after washing my mane there) – so I’m planning to take a leaf out of Ms Earle’s book and use her new, limited edition, rose and lavender, version of one of my all-time favourite cleansers, Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser (£19.75 got 150ml), at night-time as its key ingredients are very conducive to relaxation … and sleep.

So is this: one of my favourite singers singing a song that – along with her version of Rodgers and Hart’s Mountain Greenery – I couldn’t get out of my head while I was being driven about in a Rolls Royce in St Moritz..

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty

Leave a Reply

