Hairspray Heaven & Hell

Elnett Satin Unfragranced HairsprayLadies! Do not make the same mistake I did when it comes to hairspray… As someone who loves her favourite perfume and wants to only smell of Chanel, I am a devotee of that rare – possibly endangered – species of hairspray known as “unfragranced”. There aren’t many around, and L’Oreal’s Elnett Satin version seems to be remarkably difficult to come by, especially in my preferred handbag size. I’m telling you all this to justify why I have spent the last six weeks sporting a helmet-like quiff: unable to find the L’Oreal Elnett Satin Unfragranced I was looking for, I bought Boots Firm Hold Hairspray  which is also sans scent.

It may only have cost £1.65 – but, boy, have I paid a price for it. It’s a nightmare. I know it’s called Firm Hold, and that’s no exaggeration. One scoosh and forget running your (or his) fingers, let alone a brush, comb or any other implement through it. For days. Stick your Boots Firm Hold-sprayed coiffeur under the shower and it only starts to budge once you’re on to the final stages of the conditioner course. I feared I had done my hair some damage by using this hellish hairspray on a daily basis these last few weeks but Colin O’Rilley, hairdresser extraordinaire at the James Dun’s House salon in Glasgow, who tended to my tendrils today, assures me it’s not as bad as I feared. That said, he did send me straight to a larger branch of Boots than I’d checked for a while, and lo! I found a large tin of the L’Oreal (at £4.20) . Not exactly handbag size but, hey ho, I can start toting a Mary Poppins-style hold-all….

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty

Leave a Reply

