The Nudes Today

NudeGlow_Katie_Holmes_CMYK_LowresI visited the Bobbi Brown counter at Frasers, Glasgow, yesterday in order to be introduced to the new Nude Glow Collection of make-up, and be shown how best to use it on my pale Scottish skin…  I have to say, it wasn’t this picture of an almost unrecognisable Katie Holmes (right) that inspired me to experiment with Nude Glow – I’m not that struck on her frosted pink lips or the palette used on her eyes (not to mention the mousey hair colour). It was more the fact that I welcome any opportunities to be taught tricks on how to achieve a barely-there make-up look that enhances and improves my appearance.

Make-up artist Julie did a great job, and I was particularly impressed with her choices of foundation and powder for my fair complexion. I loved the Brightening Finishing Powder (£40), a pressed powder compact made up of six shades, and available in three different colour ways designed to give different skin tones a healthy glow. Inevitably, it was Porcelain Pearl that Julie chose for me.

Then it was on to the colour selection from the limited edition Nude Glow collection: we plumped for the Bronze Eye Palette (£35), one of three versatile quartets of eye colour in the range, plus Sheer Lip Color (£19) in Pink Gold, a lovely pale rose gold shade, and Nail Polish (£11) in Bronze Shimmer. Here are pictures of the collection which is in stores and online now.

Nude Glow eye palettes

Nude Glow Sheer Lip Color

Nude Glow Nail Polish

Bobbi Brown Nude Glow makeover 1

Me in the Nude (Glow), courtesy of Julie at Bobbi Brown, Frasers, Glasgow

2 Comments

Filed under Beauty

2 responses to “The Nudes Today

  1. I think Katie Holmes looks amazing in those photos! I have pale, Scottish skin too, and try to stay away from pale shades, but you look beautiful! I may have to check them out myself!

    • alisonkerr

      That’s kind of you – thank you. The Brightening Finishing Powder and Bronze Eye Palette are amazing! Please let me know how you get on.

Leave a Reply

