Sprays of Wonder

Aveda 2Sometimes, to paraphrase The Dude, there’s a product – and it’s a product for its time and place. And last week, I was shown one such product. It’s Aveda Thickening Tonic Styling Spray (£19) and it is a must-try for anyone with fine flat hair. I had actually encountered this spray before – when I had my hair done last month – but last week, Bea Watson, an Aveda Global Educator and possessor of the best, and shiniest red bob since Geraldine McEwan played Lucia in the original TV adaptation of my favourite, Mapp & Lucia, novels, showed me how to use it – and what it could do for me.

This is not about creating volume (which one tends to do at the root); it’s about beefing up every single strand of hair for a fuller, thicker effect. A 97% naturally-derived, and lovely-smelling, formula, Thickening Tonic Styling Spray harnesses the power of various botanicals, notably Amla – an Ayurvedic herb used in India for centuries to keep hair healthy.

The key with this product is to use it properly, counsels Bea Watson. “Always shake it well before you use it,” she says. “Then apply it in sections from roots to ends before combing through. Applying in sections as you blow-dry – rather than to the whole head at the start – helps to avoid the product air-drying into the Aveda 3hair, which can lead to unwanted frizz and fluffiness.

“Always create the parting that you want before you start to blow-dry. Place your product around it to help the hair fall the way you want it to. Start blow-drying at the section where you want it to appear fullest – usually at the root/crown area – and start by lifting the hair up and directing the air-flow into the root and upwards along the hair shaft, using a nozzle. Opt for a high heat and low speed to control the air-flow and help avoid heat damage.”

And you don’t need to be wearing your hair down to benefit from Thickening Tonic’s magic effects, adds Bea. “It has a fantastic gritty texture that helps to stop the hair from slipping so it’s not only ideal for creating fuller, thicker-looking blow-dries – it’s also great for up-do’s such as the on-trend top knot, or a low ponytail with lift at the crown.”

* www.aveda.co.uk

1 Comment

Filed under Beauty

One response to “Sprays of Wonder

  1. Hi there!

    Is there a product I can use that will tame my curly hair without weighing it down? Are you familiar with the actress Andie MacDowell? Well my hair is exactly like her hair *used* to be (think Ground Hog Day). In fact, people often tell me I remind them of her (hair-wise). My hair literally has a mind of it’s own. In the morning, I can leave the house with nice curls and if it is humid outside, I will wind up with kinky tight curls that resemble someone who just got a perm. I can literally lose inches of length as my hair shifts into tighter curls to the point where I look like a head full of corkscrews. I’d love a product that inhibits my hair from absorbing all the moisture in the air. Do you know of anything?

Leave a Reply

